Architecture is Life, Mohsen Mostafavi (Ed.)

Lars Müller Publishing

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established by His Highness the Aga Khan in 1977 to identify and encourage excellence in architecture and other forms of intervention in the built environment of societies with a Muslim presence. The award is given every three years and recognises all types of building projects that affect today’s built environment. Smaller projects are given equal consideration as large-scale buildings.

Richly illustrated and with explanatory texts, the book presents 2013's shortlist and the award recipients. The year’s topic is centred around the relationship between life and architecture. Numerous essays examine how architecture interacts with the life of people who inhabit it.

With contributions by David Adjaye, Mohammad al-Asad, Homi K. Bhabha, Farrokh Derakhshani, Michel Desvigne, Omar Abdulaziz Hallaj, Hanif Kara, Mahmood Mamdani, Toshiko Mori, Mohsen Mostafavi, Hashim Sarkis, Wang Shu, Shahzia Sikander, Murat Tabanlioglu, and Han Tümerkin.

Published by Lars Müller Publishing
352 pages
165 x 240 mm.
ISBN 9783037783788

Shipping world-wide.
Please note: Local pick-up of orders is available from
The Library Project at 4 Temple Bar Street, Dublin 2.